Douglas County Republicans 2014 convention

The 2014 convention of the Douglas County Republicans was held March 8th.
The following Delegates were elected: Dan Haglin, Scott Dutcher, Tessa Dutcher, Tim Philbrick, Jim Nelson, Jim Korkowski, George Cassell, Jo Bjerknes, Judi Korkowski, Faye Yager, Dan Ness, Carol Cassell, Hilda Bettermann, Owen Miller, Virgil Batesole, Bill Ingebrigtsen, Mary Franson, Jim Bjerknes, Marilyn Ingebrigtsen, and Will Bettermann,  The following Alternates were elected: Bernie Cullen, Shelly Nelson, Eric Marquardt, Linda Marquardt, Mike Marquardt, Joel Paschka, Norm Schimmelpfennig, Grant Haugen, Jeanne Batesole, Dan Diedrich, Rosemary Diedrich, Jeremiah Swor, Audrey Miller, Jerome Blommel, Lavonne Schimmelpfennig, Nathan Chan, and Joel Novak. 
Congratulations to all!  The Delegates and Alternates will be invited to attend the 7th Congressional District Republican convention, March 28th & 29th, in Willmar; and the State Republican convention, May 29th -31st, in Rochester.
The convention attendees were treated to speeches from the campaigns of 5 of the 6 US Senate candidates: Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (on behalf of Jim Abeler), Chris Dahlberg, Connor McFadden (on behalf of his father, Mike McFadden), Monti Moreno, and Julianne Ortman. 
We heard from the campaigns of 4 of the 6 Governor candidates: Scott Honour, Jeff Johnson, Marty Seifert, and Michelle Benson (Dave Thompson’s running-mate). 
We also heard from Kurt Doudt, Minority Leader of the Minnesota House of Representatives, Richard Osburn, a tribal judge from Onamia, who is running for judge in the 7th Judicial District (as a Republican), Ryan Love, who is running for Deputy Chair of the Republican Party of Minnesota, Randy Gilbert, who is running for State Auditor, and from Sen. Torrey Westrom, candidate for U.S. Congress in the 7th District. 
We heard from Nancy Taffe and Jeff Backer, who are vying for the endorsement to House District 12A., and from Rep. Mary Franson and Sue Nelson, who are vying for the endorsement to House District 8B.  Finally, we heard from Rep. Paul Anderson, House District 12B, who is not facing a Republican challenger.
What a great evening of fine Republican speakers.  They were all very inspiring…Do NOT lose heart!
Dan Haglin, chair: Douglas County Republicans

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s